Our Board

Sandy Verschoor: Chair

SandyVerschoor_BoardSandy is a well known arts industry identity. She has worked in marketing, development and administration for many years including the Adelaide Festival, Come Out Festival, the South Australian Museum, WOMADelaide, Adelaide Film Festival, Australian International Documentary Conference and most recently, as the CEO of the Adelaide Fringe (2006-2010). In 2009, she graduated from the University of Adelaide with a Masters of Arts in Creative Writing and her first (completed) novel. She was recently appointed to her new role as Executive Producer of the Adelaide Festival of Ideas.


Ben Mylius: Deputy Chair

Ben_Mylius_133Ben Mylius, 24, is an emerging writer and screenwriter with an interest in Earth Jurisprudence and the ecological possibilities of creative writing. He is the founding convenor of Paperbackfold – Adelaide Emerging Writers, and winner of a 2011 Carclew Project and Development Grant, the 2010 IAF Creative Writing Scholarship and the 2005 Tennyson Medal. He’s presented at the 2nd and 3rd Australian Conferences on Wild Law and Earth Jurisprudence and the Critical Animals Festival, worked on committees for Dubnium/SA Writing Ambassadors and the Adelaide Law Review.

Fiona Smith: Treasurer

Fiona_Smith_130Fiona Smith is an avid reader and with great admiration for the authors that keep her supplied with endless stories, Fiona enjoys working within a creative environment. She balances this creative element with sound business, administration and financial knowledge and experience. She has worked across a variety of industries, including advertising, arts events, financial services and business consulting. She also has experience in the not-for-profit sector as Project Manager and then a Director of the Board of the Birthing Kit Foundation (Australia).


Antony Clarke

Antony_Clarke_135Antony is passionate about writing and improving the ability of writers to achieve their goals. He has six years of experience working as a Senior Policy Adviser and Analyst in not-for-profit organisations, including skills in writing submissions, advocacy, representation and governance. He has also worked in the State and Commonwealth public sectors and financial services. He has been a member of the South Australian Writers Centre since 2008 and is currently undertaking an Advanced Diploma of Arts in Professional Writing at the Adelaide College of the Arts..

Susan Errington

Susan Errington has a Bachelor of Laws, a PhD in Creative Writing and is a founding board member of the South Australian literary magazine Wet Ink. A published novelist, she has been a co-editor of a short story collection and awarded and shortlisted for several literary prizes. Currently, she is employed by the SA Legal Services Commission and her skills and experience will be of benefit to the SA Writers Centre in what are particularly difficult times for arts organisations. She will seek to increase membership, especially of younger writers, lift the Centre’s public profile, explore new avenues for funding and partnerships and identify new technological opportunities.


Michelle Prak

Michelle_Prak_130Michelle Prak is a social media consultant with more than 20 years’ experience in the communications industry. She produces a lot of content for the social media world she occupies. She writes a regular blog on social media called Prakkypedia, is a happy Twitterholic and has a weekly segment on 891 ABC Adelaide. Michelle lectures in Public Relations at the University of South Australia. She was a member of the SA Writers Centre in 1998-1999 and is excited to be returning. She is keen to share her public relations and social media skills with the SAWC to help it connect with members, raise its profile and compete for grants.


Victoria Purman

Victoria_Purman-135Victoria Purman has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, speechwriter to Premier, political adviser, consultant editor, media adviser and private sector communications consultant. Victoria is currently Writer in Residence at the SA Writers Centre and is serving her first term on the board. She has been a Board member of Carclew Youth Arts for three years and was previously Chair of the Adelaide High School Governing Council for four years. She has a BA (Journalism) from Uni SA. Her first book will be published by Harlequin Australia in October.

Julie Wells

Julie_Wells_135 Following a teaching career in secondary schools in rural and metropolitan Adelaide, Julie has worked in public libraries as a children’s literature specialist, and more recently as a teacher librarian in numerous independent secondary schools. Julie joined The Children’s Book Council of Australia, South Australian Branch, in 1996, serving as CBCA Book of the Year Judge for 2003-2004, becoming the SA Branch President in 2006 and National President in 2010. Julie is now a Board Member of the new CBCA, having guided the organisation through a recent structural change. She managed the National CBCA Conference held in Adelaide in 2012. Bringing Australian authors, illustrators and publishers to a broad and diverse community in a changing publishing world is her priority..